top of page
  • Uter

Statement [in english]

Dernière mise à jour : 23 mai 2020

Uter \yteʁ\ , in Latin :

Masculin noun. II declination - Uterus

Masculin noun. III declination - Wineskin

Interrogative pronoun - Which one of the two?

Relative pronoun - The one of the two that

Pronoun indéfini - Whichever



First of all, embroidery is not a means of sustenance! Nevertheless embroidery is an act that is essential to me. It’s a family tradition, passed down over generations, from women to woman. The work of thread and needle is typically a feminine know how. Considered as a hobby, it’s a symbol of women’s exclusion. Actually, their works were confined to create useful or decorative objects. Towels, bed sheets, etc. have been for generations the support of their works. These women, usually used their works to clean dirt.


My studies and, then my job, meant that I had to study anatomy, neurology, and statistics. Then, little by little, I started to enjoy these disciplines and wanted to idealise them.

At first, I had the need to share. To share whilst doing: through the thread. Then, to blend the thread and the human body. Later they appeared as equations and mathematical formulas.

To blend sciences and embroidery is probably a mockery from the young lady that I am to the manly and traditional vision of it.


Embroidery is a slow act. It pushes you to reflect on things and to take time to reflect.

The thread was for me a means to share (stories), to blow off steam, to trace some important episodes of my life. I embroided for me.

During a conference on this centennial art, I felt the need to show my embroideries. I also had integrated the idea that embroidery is a home activity: either useful or decorative. I then decided to show my productions: to let the canvas's speak for themselves, considering this discipline as an independent form of art and not as a simple hobby, seen as women sat beside the fireplace.






bottom of page